Let me tell you about my friend Juan. Juan has been a friend of mine since 1993 and though we lose touch from time to time, we always find ways to keep in contact with the rest of the group and catch up every now and then.

 

Juan, a native of Imus Cavite is a fairly decent guy and has worked many different types of jobs here and there.

After college, like everyone else he wanted to get a steady job so he can help provide for his family.

 Image

(not his real picture obviously)

Now as the title of the post suggests, this is a story about perspective. Let me give you a view of Juan’s Perspective over the years.

 

 

June 2000

I have been searching for a job for many monthsIf i could just get a job that pays well, I dont care what kind of job, any schedule or any place – I will show them how hardworking I am and make them thankful every day that they hired me.

September 2000 – Hired for an Outbound Call Center in Ortigas

It’s a bit far from where i live but the pay is great so I took it. My Parents are so happy and I can now help out with my brother’s tuition.

February 2001

Pay is ok but it’s just too far. I get tired too much from travelling back and forth and I spend a lot of time on the road.

August 2001 – Moves to a Call Center in Bacoor Cavite

I like this, it’s just 20 minutes away from my house although the pay is smaller. But it’s an inbound call center so it’s easier. This is really great.

January 2002

The goals are too difficult and there are so many things they ask from you like staying after your shift for a meeting. I heard in other centers they have bonuses and incentives too. Wish I could have that setup that would be really great because I am a performer.

July 2002 – Moves to a Call Center in Makati

It’s a bit far from my house but they offer a lot of commission and incentives. Plus we get a signing bonus too! The site is really nice and brand new. I am very good at sales. I will make a lot of money here. This is great!

September 2002

The sales targets are really hard and there’s too much politics in here.

October 2002 – Moves to a call center in Eastwood

This is really great! Better pay, lots of incentives and I am part of a pilot team too!

May 2003

They said there’s a big chance of promotion but until now there are no openings. There’s too much politics here, there are people who have only been here for a few months but have already been promoted. Not a good company!

July 2004 – Moves to a call center in Ortigas

It’s a new program. Happy to be part of the pilot team and we have a signing bonus too! Brand new site, higher pay and lots of incentives! The people are nice too! The facility looks like a hotel! This is great!

May 2005

The goals are too difficult and there are so many things they ask from you like coming in early for a pre-shift meeting and then staying after your shift for another meeting. This is so not worth it.

July 2005 – Leaves Call Center in Ortigas

September 2005

I have been searching for a job for many months… If i could just get a job that pays well, I dont care what kind of job, any schedule or any place – I will show them how hardworking I am and make them thankful every day that they hired me.

May 2006 – Hired in a Call Center in Makati

Wow I am part of a Pilot team, the pay and benefits are great and it’s such a big program, they said that they will definitely promote from within and the program will keep growing. This is great. I am really going to work hard to show them I am worth it.

November 2006

The goals are too difficult and there are so many things they ask from you like coming in early for a pre-shift meeting and then staying after your shift for another meeting. This is so not worth it.

June 2007

They said there’s a big chance of promotion but until now there are no openings. There’s too much politics here, there are people who have only been here for a few months but have already been promoted.

January 2008

I heard in other centers they have higher bonuses and incentives. Wish I could have that setup that would be really great because I am a performer.

August 2009

Getting tired of being in the night shift. The incentives are delayed and not that high compared to other centers. If i could just find that has a better schedule that will definitely be great.

February 2010 – Hired in a call center in Mall of Asia

This is the best setup there is. Great pay, great incentives, MORNING SHIFT!!!!!! I love this job!

September 2011

The goals are too difficult and there are so many things they ask from you like coming in early for a pre-shift meeting and then staying after your shift for another meeting. This is so not worth it.

March 2012 – Leaves call center in Mall Of Asia

September 2012

I have been searching for a job for many months… If I could just get a job that pays well, I don’t care what kind of job, any schedule or any place – I will show them how hardworking I am and make them thankful every day that they hired me.

 

That is Juan’s story.  You may have found it amusing, you may not. You may have been able to relate, you may not. That’s the thing about Perspective; everything is dependent on your vantage point. I still recall a former mentor’s words – “the problem with people sometimes is that memories are short but personal motivations are inconsistent”

 

I take extra effort in ensuring that these words are still with me today to make sure I don’t lose perspective. The same reason why I will never get tired of this quote from William Arthur Ward

 Image

 

Here’s hoping you always keep things in the proper perspective.

3 responses »

  1. […] This is why I wrote this some time ago – Juan’s story […]

  2. […] similar to my old post about Juan, that not only has disastrous consequences but it can put you on an endless loop where you […]

Leave a Reply

